Hockey players receive awards


On Sunday night, the Monticello-Annandale-Maple Lake Moose boys hockey team reunited for the last time in the 2013-2014 season for the annual end-of-the-season banquet at the Monticello Community Center. 
The night began with a dinner and concluded with an awards ceremony. At the awards ceremony, players and managers were recognized for lettering in the sport, maintaining good grades, achieving All-Conference and for the awards for which they were nominated by their teammates. 
The players with outstanding academics were awarded with an Academic All Conference award. The recipients of this award were Monticello’s Oliver Winsor and Maple Lake’s Justin Wilson, McRae Haney and Nate Maas.
Followed by the Academic All Conference awards presentation was the All Conference awards which are selected by the coaches and presented to the players that they feel lead the team. From Monticello, Oliver Winsor, Tyler Mros and Darien Jones were awarded, along with Spencer Nelson from Annandale. McRae Haney, of Maple Lake, and Colton Jones and Sam Johnson, of Monticello, received All Conference Honorable Mentions.
More information appears on this week's Messenger.