30th Annual Pheasants Forever Banquet


Wright County Pheasants Forever Chapter members and guests observed their 30th anniversary on March 7 at the Classic Hall, Annandale. 
Highlighting the evening was the presentation of a plaque recognizing the chapter for providing $5,000,000 in funds used for various programs and projects in the county and Minnesota over the 30 years. The most recent was their participation in the 604 acre Veterans State Wildlife Management area south of Clearwater off Hwy. 24. Numerous other organizations were involved in the purchase including local entities, Muller Family Theatres and Rassat Outdoor Group.
Theatre owner Mike Muller, wintering in Florida, was awarded the Long Tail Award and his son, Mike  Jr., was present to accept the plaque Davidson, was presented with the Dedication Award and commented his farm is put in the Federal CRP (Conservation Reserve Program) and the state’s RIM (Reinvest in Minnesota) program which is providing habitat for both birds and ducks. 
Two members of the Buffalo High School Trap Shooting team, Brandin Evens and Megan Ratke, were acknowleged Saturday. They participate in a 12-team conference. Evens was the Class A varsity champion breaking 23 clays. Ratke was close behind at 21. Both girls hunt ducks and deer. 
MC for the evening was Bob St. Pierere, vice-president of marketing for Pheasants Forever and a radio personality on KFAN FM 200.3. He gave long-time chapter member, Leo Kill, a break but Kill still found ways to get involved Saturday. 
Wildlife biologist, Emilee Nelson, had a good answer when asked about the future of pheasants in Minnesota, when she said, “We need to give them a place to live.” That translates into habitat. She commented graphs of the rise and fall in pheasant populations correlate with the amount of habitat that has been available during peak years.  
The banquet, which is the chapter’s only annual fundraiser, was attended by nearly 300 members and guests who participated in the numerous fund-raising opportunities. 
To show the chapter’s appreciation for 30 successful years, a free raffle for a small caliber rifle was conducted to end the evening. It was won by a lady. 
Present officers of the Wright County Chapter are Jeremy Kisner, president; Eric Lenneman, secretary; David Lloyd, treasurer; Eric Mattson and Melissa Sandquist, co-banquet chairs.